Revealed: Why Washington Sundar Isn’t Included In India’s Squad For New Zealand Tests

Washington Sundar was a notable absentee in India‘s squad, announced on Friday by the BCCI, for the home 2-Test series against New Zealand.

India will host Kane Williamson’s side, the reigning World Test Champions, for two Test matches, both part of the second WTC cycle, after a 3-T20I series.

It has been learned by ESPNcricinfo that Washington Sundar is yet to completely recover from a finger injury which he had sustained in July, during a practice game ahead of the England series in England.

Washington Sundar (Image Credit: Twitter)

Washington Sundar has been since away from high-level cricket, missing the England Test series, the second half of the IPL 2021, followed by the T20 World Cup, and then the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy this month. He has been training and rehabilitating at the NCA but has been given the clearance to play international cricket yet.

Jayant Yadav, the off-spinning allrounder, has been named in the squad to support the trio of R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel.

Washington Sundar has featured in 4 Tests so far, including playing a crucial role in the historic Gabba victory.

Virat Kohli rested for first Test, Rohit Sharma rested from both Tests

Keeping their workload in mind skipper Virat Kohli has been rested from the first Test. Ajinkya Rahane has been confirmed to captain the side with Cheteshwar Pujara named his deputy.

Opener Rohit Sharma, who will lead the side in the T20I series as the new T20I skipper, has been rested from both the Tests. After the conclusion of the New Zealand Tests, India will fly out to South Africa for an all-format tour.

Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli. Image-Twitter

Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami are other all-format players who have been given a rest from the Test series against the Kiwis.

The three T20Is will be played in Jaipur (November 17), Ranchi (November 19) and Kolkata (November 21), followed by Tests in Kanpur (November 25-29) and Mumbai (December 3-7).

India’s T20I squad:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj

India’s Test squad:

Ajinkya Rahane (C), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vc), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

Virat Kohli will join the squad for the second Test and will lead the team.

Also Read: T20I World Cup 2021: Gautam Gambhir Calls David Warner’s Six Off Mohammad Hafeez’s No-Ball ‘Pathetic’, Ravichandran Ashwin Disagrees

Source link

Leave a Comment